We acknowledge that Manitoba is on the original lands of the Dakota, Anishinaabeg, Cree, Oji-Cree, Dakota, Dené, Inuit and Métis Nation. We acknowledge that the College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Manitoba is located on Treaty One territory. We respect the Treaties that were made on these territories, and we acknowledge the harms and mistakes of the past. We dedicate ourselves to moving forward in partnership with First Nations, Métis, and Inuit communities in a spirit of reconciliation and collaboration.

As the governing body of the College, the Council provides oversight to ensure the College meets its mandate to serve and protect the public interest. Council members will direct the affairs of the College with an overall responsibility for governance, strategic planning, financial oversight, and risk management. Council members may also be asked to hold a position with one of the College’s Committees. 

More information about the Council’s 2021-2026 Strategic Priorities can be found here.

More information about the Council’s role and responsibilities can be found here.

The affairs of the College are governed by a Council of eleven (11), seven of whom are members of the College, and four of whom are public representatives.  The RPNs on Council are elected whereas the public representatives are appointed by Minister of Health or by the Council as a whole. 

Council Candidates to be Declared by Acclamation 

The Governance Committee was seeking to fill three (3) RPN Council vacancies for the 2023-2025 Council term. 

The Governance Committee issued the call for nominations on March 27, 2023.

At the deadline for nominations, there were three (3) nominees for the three RPN council positions.  An election is not required. The candidates will be declared by acclamation.

The following candidates will be introduced at the AGM on June 27, 2023.

Annette McDougall, RPN

Tara Nassar, RPN

Carrie Sokolan, RPN


College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Manitoba

1854 Portage Ave. Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada, R3J 0G9

© 2022 The College of Registered Psychiatric Nurses of Manitoba. Powered by Thentia.